As a professional Association we are formally governed through our Constitution, elected Board and Executive Team

SMSF Association Constitution and corporate governance statement

The SMSF Association Ltd is governed formally through the SMSF Association Constitution. We follow the AICD Not-For-Profit Governance Principles promoting good governance for Not-for-Profit Organisations. 

SMSF Association Annual Reports

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014

SMSF Association Financial Statements

SMSF Association Financial Statements are only availabe to members.  

Our Board

Andrew Hamilton
View Andrew's biography
Robyn FitzRoy
View Robyn's biography
Hon. Bernie Ripoll
View Bernie's biography
Scott Hay-Bartlem
View Scott's biography
Michael Houlihan
Vice Chair
View Michael's biography
Liam Shorte
View Liam's biography
Tracey Scotchbrook
View Tracey's biography

Our Executive Team

Chief Executive Officer
Contact: John Maroney
View John's biography
Deputy CEO / Director of Policy & Education
Contact: Peter Burgess
View Peter's biography
General Manager
Corporate Development

Contact: Craig Jameson

Head of Membership
and Operations

Contact: Joshua Geers

Head of Events
National Marketing and Communications Manager

Jessica Beare 
(on maternity leave)


The SMSF Association has a number of Board and Association Committees which support the management and administration of the Association. We appreciate the contribution and assistance of committee members to achieve our objectives.  

Board Committees

Finance, Risk and Audit Committee

Michael Houlihan – Chair
Tracey Scotchbrook
Brett Kenny
John Maroney
Josh Geers

Governance, Nomination and Remuneration Committee

Robyn FitzRoy – Chair
Scott Hay-Bartlem
John Maroney
Josh Geers

Public Policy Committee

Robin Bowerman – Chair
Hon. Bernie Ripoll
Tracey Scotchbrook
Jeremy Cooper
John Maroney
Peter Burgess

Association and Advisory Committees

National Membership Committee

Liam Shorte – Chair
Michael Houlihan
Brett Griffiths
Con Gotsis
Doug McBirnie
Lesley Faehse
Julie Steed
Brooke Hepburn-Rogers
Leonie DiLorenzo
John Maroney

National Conference Program Committee

Peter Burgess – Chair
Aaron Dunn
Mark Ellem
Jemma Sanderson
Peter Crump
Adam Goldstein
Belinda Aisbett
Shelley Barton
Leigh Mansell
Craig Day
Scott Hay-Bartlem
Mary Simmons

Professional Standards Committee

Tracey Scotchbrook – Chair
David Saul
Fiona Hinrichsen
Nathan Baker

Education Committee

Peter Burgess – Chair
Belinda Aisbett
Julie Taylor
Louise Biti
Neal Dallas
Stephen Wright

About Us

The SMSF Association is the independent, professional body representing Australia’s self-managed super fund sector. 

Learn more


We are actively involved in discussions with key members of Government and Opposition, sector stakeholders, regulators and policy makers. 

Learn more

Subscribe to stay in touch